Oklahoma State University Center for Health Sciences
Oklahoma State University Center for Health Sciences
Kayse M. Shrum, D.O.

Kayse M. Shrum, D.O.

President, OSU Center for Health Sciences
Dean, College of Osteopathic Medicine
George Kaiser Family Foundation Chair in Medical Excellence and Service
Saint Francis Health System Endowed Chair in Pediatrics
Professor of Pediatrics

President Shrum is a native Oklahoman who earned her doctor of osteopathic medicine degree from the OSU College of Osteopathic Medicine.  She joined the medical school faculty at OSU Center for Health Sciences (OSU-CHS) in 2002 and served as chair of the Department of Pediatrics from 2004 – 2011. In 2011, she was named provost of OSU-CHS and dean of the OSU College of Osteopathic Medicine. In 2013, she was promoted to her current position as president of OSU-CHS, becoming the youngest and first female president and dean of a medical school in the state of Oklahoma. President Shrum holds the George Kaiser Family Foundation Chair in Medical Excellence and Service and the Saint Francis Health System Endowed Chair of Pediatrics.

Under her leadership, OSU Center for Health Sciences has experienced unprecedented growth. Student enrollment has more than doubled as new academic programs have been established to meet the workforce needs of Oklahoma. To fuel the growth of OSU-CHS, President Shrum has raised more than $22 million in private support, including an $8 million transformative gift from the A.R. and Marylouise Tandy Foundation to support the construction of a state-of-the -art clinical skills simulation building. During her tenure, she has made addressing the healthcare workforce shortage in rural Oklahoma a top priority for OSU-CHS. A fervent champion of rural health and primary care medicine, President Shrum led the strategic efforts to create a sustainable rural primary care physician pipeline program, which starts with rural high school outreach programs and culminates with rural-based residency training programs.  President Shrum launched award-winning high school recruiting programs like Operation Orange and Blue Coat to White Coat, established the Rural Medical Track (a rural-focused medical curriculum), and  expanded the number of residency training programs in Oklahoma by securing a $3.8 million grant from the Oklahoma Tobacco Settlement Endowment Trust and a $5.6 million grant from the Oklahoma Health Care Authority.

President Shrum is active in a variety of professional and charitable organizations. She currently serves on the Oklahoma State Regents’ Task Force on the Future of Higher Education and holds leadership positions in osteopathic professional organizations including Vice President of the Oklahoma Osteopathic Association, Chair of the American Osteopathic Board of Pediatrics, and committee positions on the American Association of Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine Board of Deans and the American Osteopathic Association House of Delegates. She is also a board member of the Children’s Hospital Foundation at Saint Francis, Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Oklahoma, BankSNB and Southwest Bancorp, PLICO, Oklahoma State University Medical Authority and Trust, and OSU Center for Health Systems Innovation. President Shrum has been recognized for her leadership and many contributions to improving health outcomes in Tulsa and Oklahoma. She was named a finalist for the Journal Record’s 2015 Woman of Year award and was inducted into Connors State College Athletic Hall of Fame in 2013. She also received the Oklahoma Osteopathic Association’s Outstanding & Distinguished Service Award in 2014 and the Tulsa Mayor’s Commission on the Status of Women’s Pinnacle Award for Health in 2012.

Curriculum Vitae of Kayse Shrum, D.O.

OSU-CHS on Facebook OSU-CHS on Twitter OSU-CHS on Foursquare OSU Medicine on YouTube Google+