Academics   |   Research    |   Administration   |   Calendar   |   News   |   Apply
OSU logo Oklahoma State University
Center for Health Sciences
Printer Friendly

Fall 2008



Ryan Miller

Ryan Miller







Office of
Alumni Affairs

Ryan N. Miller
Director of Alumni Affairs
Renee’ Motte-Williams
Administrative Assistant III
fax: 918.561.5876

Oklahoma State University
Center for Health Sciences
College of Osteopathic Medicine
1111 West 17th Street
Tulsa, OK 74107-1898

John J. Fernandes,
D.O., M.B.A.,

President & Dean
Marla M. Schaefer, M.S.
Ellen L. Stockton
Art Director
Peggy Billups
Graphic Designer
Terry R. Drenner
Rebcca Nida
Web Designer

The COMmunicator is a quarterly newsletter published by the OSU Center for Health Sciences,
College of Osteopathic Medicine
Alumni Association.















































Dear Alumni,

The Alumni Association had an active summer and now that school has started, things are bustling around the college. Orientation week went well, with 88 students joining us as the Class of 2012. Along with our annual white coat ceremony, the alumni association held a fun-filled weekend for the 25-year reunion for the Class of 1983. In August we attended the Arkansas Osteopathic Medicine Association state convention. We visited with several of our alumni and mentored over 30 pre-med students to apply to our college. Our golf tournament in June was a great success. Once again we were joined by Coach Eddie Sutton and Pistol Pete. All of the money raised goes toward scholarships for incoming students and emergency student loans for the current students. Plan now to attend the national AOA convention in Las Vegas, Oct. 25-30. We will be exhibiting for three days and hosting an alumni reception on Monday, Oct. 27, on the 104th floor of the Stratosphere. All alumni are welcome to attend. We will bus everyone from the Venetian Hotel to the Stratosphere the night of the event. Look for more information soon. Once again, thank you all for allowing me the opportunity to serve as your alumni director. It’s great to be a part of Oklahoma’s only nationally ranked medical school.


Ryan N. Miller, Director
OSU College of Osteopathic Medicine
Alumni Association


CME Primary Care Update
Nov. 21 to 23

Plan to attend the OSU Office of Continuing Medical Education’s 25th Annual Primary Care Update Nov. 21-23, at the DoubleTree Hotel-Tulsa Downtown. The conference features lectures and hands-on activities with emphasis on situations encountered by the primary care physician.

OSU’s CME offers the most current knowledge and developments in the field of medicine to osteopathic physicians and related professionals. It is a fully accredited American Osteopathic Association sponsor, offering both 1A and 1B CME credit through live conferences and the media loan program, with new web-based programming coming soon. OSU-CME offers:

  • Continuing medical education seminars and programs with emphasis on situations encountered by the primary care physician on a daily basis
  • Long distance education opportunities for physicians in remote and rural areas
  • Category 1 CME Credit (fully accredited AOA sponsor)

For more information about the conference or any of the educational opportunities available contact Rob Robinson, program coordinator or Cyndi Canning, program specialist at (800) 274-1972, (918) 586-4615 or (918) 586-4617.

25th Annual Primary Care Update Information


White Coat Ceremony

First-year medical students recite the osteopathic oath of commitment at a white coat ceremony capping orientation week. White coats were provided by the Oklahoma Osteopathic Association. Speaker for the ceremony was John Fernandes, D.O./M.B.A., dean of the OSU medical school. Others participating were Vivian M. Stevens, Ph.D., associate dean of enrollment management and professor and chair of the behavioral sciences department, Gilbert M. Rogers, D.O., president of the Oklahoma Osteopathic Association, Joan E. Stewart, D.O., ’85, associate dean for clinical education, R. Michael Eimen, D.O.,’85, alumni association president, Katie Lee Jones, Student Senate president and Trey Thomason, president of the Class of 2011.



Dr. Koehler Chairs OPMTC

Duane G. Koehler, D.O., ’90, of Miami, Okla., has been named chair of the Oklahoma Physician Manpower Training Commission. He was appointed by Gov. Brad Henry to the task force dedicated to enhancing medical care to rural and underserved areas of Oklahoma. Koehler is president-elect of the Oklahoma Osteopathic Association and chief of its Department of Professional Affairs and chair of the Bureau on Finance and the Bureau on Convention. He is an AOA Health Policy Fellow and was a delegate to the AOA House of Delegates. He is an adjunct faculty member at OSU College of Osteopathic Medicine, and a member of the Workers’ Compensation Physician Advisory Committee. He was Oklahoma Rural Health Association 2006 Practitioner of the Year.




Golf Classic

The alumni association’s Summer Golf Classic drew golfers including Brad Nelligan, Richard Hastings, D.O., ’80, Barry Cheatham and Susan Steele, D.O., 88. Proceeds from the event help fund student scholarships, emergency loans and other activities.



Class of ‘83 Reunion

Alumni attending the Class of 1983 reunion in Tulsa in August included (from left) Nick Bentley, D.O., Steve Cox, D.O., Dawn Campbell, D.O., Cynthia Hughes, D.O., Janan Lane, D.O., JoAnn Ryan, D.O., Billy Edwards, D.O., Ruth Miller, D.O., Dennis Hughes, D.O., Debra Montgomery, D.O., Ted Mickle, D.O., Terry Grewe, D.O. and Ron Stevens, D.O.


An OSU "I Do"

Alumni Association Director Ryan Miller’s first day on the job at OSU in 2002 also was the day he met his future wife, Bavette Leeper, who conducted his new employee orientation and campus tour. It turned out to be a match made in Cowboy Country. She is director of research operations and graduate studies for OSU Center for Health Sciences. They were married July 25.


Rayn and Bavette



Alumni Notes

2007-08 OSU-COM Alumni Association Executive Committee members include:
R. Michael Eimen, D.O.,’85, president
Robin Dyer, D.O.,’92, president-elect
Candy Ting, D.O.’86, vice president
Ronnie Carr, D.O., ’77, treasurer

Rod Felber, D.O., ’80, was named Physician of the Year by Team Health, a national organization that contracts with hospitals to provide physicians and services. Felber is director of a hospitalist program in Lodi, Calif.

Pam Garner, D.O., ’05, in practice in Alva, Okla., was featured in the Alva Review Courier.

Tracy Middleton, D.O., ’84, received the Arizona Osteopathic Medical Association Outstanding Mentor Award at the association’s Presidents Gala.


Physicians Wanted

See career opportunities at