OSU logo Oklahoma State University
Center for Health Sciences
Press Releases
Printer Friendly


Mary Bea Drummond | 918-594-8223


Sean Kennedy | 918-594-8360

Two OSU Medicine faculty members among nominees for AOA mentor award

Terry K. Badzinski, D.O.

Scott Cyrus, D.O.

TULSA, Okla. – Two Oklahoma State University College of Osteopathic Medicine faculty members and alumni are among five finalists for the 2009 American Osteopathic Association Mentor of the Year award. 

Terry K. Badzinski, D.O., assistant professor of obstetrics and gynecology, and Scott Cyrus, D.O., adjunct clinical professor of pediatrics, are among finalists selected from more than 135 nominees.

Badzinski is 1977 graduate of OSU College of Osteopathic Medicine and was honored as Attending Physician of the Year at OSU Medical Center in 2006. Cyrus is a 1991 graduate of the College. He also is Oklahoma Osteopathic Association president-elect for 2009-10.

The five finalists will be honored at a Distinguished Mentor Reception at the 114th Osteopathic Medical Conference and Exposition in New Orleans on Nov. 1. They also will be honored by the American Osteopathic Foundation later that day. The AOA Mentor of the Year will be announced during the opening session of the conference on Nov. 2. The recipient will be presented with an award and a monetary gift.

Oklahoma State University Center for Health Sciences in Tulsa offers programs in osteopathic medicine, biomedical sciences and forensic sciences. Since its beginnings more than 30 years ago, OSU-CHS has grown to offer nine graduate degrees. On-campus programs, distance learning and OSU partnerships train osteopathic physicians, research scientists and health care professionals with an emphasis on serving rural and under-served Oklahoma. OSU operates six clinics, five in Tulsa and one in Enid. More information about OSU Center for Health Sciences is available at www.healthsciences.okstate.edu.