OSU logo Oklahoma State University
Center for Health Sciences
Press Releases
Printer Friendly


Mary Bea Drummond | 918-594-8223


Sean Kennedy | 918-594-8360

OSU-CHS commencement is May 15

TULSA, Okla. — Commencement ceremonies for Oklahoma State University Center for Health Sciences are at 7 p.m. Friday, May 15, at Spirit Bank Event Center in Tulsa.

OSU-CHS will confer degrees in osteopathic medicine, biomedical sciences and forensic sciences. Michael Chad Chamberlain, president of the Class of 2009, is the speaker. Grand Marshals are Robin Dyer, D.O., interim chair and associate professor of Osteopathic Manipulative Medicine, and Edward F. Goljan, M.D., professor of Pathology.

Jay L. Helm of Tulsa, a member of the OSU/A&M Board of Regents, will receive the Distinguished Public Service Award. John J. Fernandes, D.O./M.B.A., president and dean, will present the award, given for development of medical education to embody the highest standards of excellence and dedicated teaching; improvements in health care for the community, state, and nation; and for advancement of ideals that contribute to building a better society.

Helm, a Tulsa real estate developer and manager, is cofounder and president of American Residential Group. Helm received the award in recognition of his ongoing and active support of the College’s residency programs. He is a member of the OSU Medical Center Trust and the OSU-Tulsa Board of Trustees.

The first osteopathic medicine class graduated from the school, then known as the Oklahoma College of Osteopathic Medicine and Surgery, in 1977. More than 2,300 osteopathic physicians have graduated from the college since 1977. Currently, 51 percent of OSU Medicine graduates remain in active practice Oklahoma; 21 percent in communities of fewer than 10,000 residents and 16 percent in communities of fewer than 7,500 residents