OSU logo Oklahoma State University
Center for Health Sciences
Press Releases
Printer Friendly

Date: Feb. 22, 2010

Mary Bea Drummond
(918) 594-8223

Binh Phung is OSU Student D.O. of the Year

Binh Phung
              Binh Phung

TULSA, Okla. – Fourth-year osteopathic medicine student Binh Phung is the Oklahoma State University College of Osteopathic Medicine 2010 Student Doctor of Osteopathy of the Year.

Student doctor Phung was selected for the designation by fellow OSU osteopathic medical students and faculty members. He is awarded $500 from the OSU-COM Alumni Association.  Phung joins recipients from the nation’s osteopathic medical schools in entering a National Student D.O. of the Year process. The National Student D.O. of the Year award winner receives a monetary award, recognition at the American Association of Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine annual meeting in April, and at the American Osteopathic Association’s House of Delegates meeting later this year.

The Council of Osteopathic Student Government Presidents, a part of the AACOM and the official national representative voting voice for osteopathic medical students, sponsors the award.

The award recognizes the overall achievements of outstanding student doctors from osteopathic schools and emphasizes service rather than academic performance. It honors a medical student who has displayed commitment to school, community and the osteopathic profession.


Oklahoma State University Center for Health Sciences in Tulsa offers programs in osteopathic medicine, biomedical sciences and forensic sciences. Since its beginnings more than 30 years ago, OSU-CHS has grown to offer eight graduate degrees. On-campus programs, distance learning and OSU partnerships train osteopathic physicians, research scientists and health care professionals with an emphasis on serving rural and under-served Oklahoma. OSU operates eight clinics, six in Tulsa, one in Enid and one in Muskogee. More information about OSU Center for Health Sciences is available at www.healthsciences.okstate.edu.