OSU logo Oklahoma State University
Center for Health Sciences
Press Releases
Printer Friendly


Mary Bea Drummond | 918-594-8223


Sean Kennedy | 918-594-8360

OSU College of Osteopathic Medicine in Tulsa confers degrees

TULSA, Okla. – Eighty-seven medical students received their Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine (D.O.) degrees from the Oklahoma State University Center for Health Sciences College of Osteopathic Medicine in Tulsa on May 13. Seventeen graduate degrees in biomedical sciences and forensic sciences and a D.O./Master of Business Administration also were presented.

James Hess, Ed.D., vice president and chief operating officer, gave the invocation and Howard Barnett, Jr., president of OSU in Tulsa, welcomed the audience. Commencement Grand Marshals were Mousumi Som, D.O., professor of Internal Medicine and Edward F. Goljan, M.D., professor of Pathology.

Kayse M. Shrum, D.O., provost and dean, presented degrees in osteopathic medicine. Graduate degrees in biomedical and forensic sciences were presented by Bruce A. Benjamin, Ph.D., interim vice-provost of graduate programs, and associate dean of Biomedical Sciences.

Awards presented included:

Faculty Senate Distinguished Service Award, presented to W. Stephen Eddy, D.O.; Regents’ Awards recognizing extraordinary excellence in teaching and research were presented to Robert Conrad, Ph.D. for Distinguished Research in Biomedical Sciences, Nedra Wilson, Ph.D., for Distinguished Teaching in Biomedical Sciences and Jeffrey Stroup, Pharm. D. for Clinical Research.

Amanda Bighorse, D.O., and E. Matthew Hoffman, D.O., Ph.D., received Regents’ Distinguished Student Awards.

Class president Trey Thomason, D.O., presented the Class of 2011 remarks. Graduates were inducted into the OSU-COM Alumni Association by Candy Ting, D.O., association president.

Academic Excellence recipients were Eric Canaday, D.O., Clinical Excellence, Charles Russell “Rusty” Buck, D.O. and Leadership and Service, Trey Thomason, D.O. The OSU Osteopathic Medicine Mind, Body, Spirit Award was received by Katie Lee Jones, D.O.

Departmental awards were:  Anatomy and Cell Biology, Eric Canaday, D.O.; Behavioral Sciences, Scott Adams, D.O., Ph.D.; Biochemistry and Family Medicine, Steffen Carey, D.O.; Biomedical Sciences, Susan Neubauer, Ph.D.; Internal Medicine, Trey Thomason, D.O.;
Microbiology, Mackenzie Fender, D.O.; Obstetrics and Gynecology, Holly Black, D.O.; Osteopathic Manipulative Medicine, Tessa Woods, D.O.; Pathology, Sarah Patrick, D.O.; Pediatrics, Claire Lukeman, D.O.; Pharmacology, Dustin Beck, D.O.; Physiology, Joe Morgan, D.O.; Radiology, Yakiji Bailey, D.O.; Surgery, Ty Kirkpatrick, D.O. and Adam Bradley, D.O.

Rural Medicine, Lori D. Arney, D.O., Kara Beair, D.O., Amanda Bighorse, D.O., Beth Hites, D.O., Joanna Reusser, D.O., Krystal Vonfeldt, D.O. Randall Henderson, D.O. and Katie Lee Jones, D.O., received Alumni Recognition awards.  

The Donna Jones Moritsugu Award to the spouse of a medical student was presented to Lindsey Kirkpatrick, wife of Ty Kirkpatrick, D.O.

Inducted into Phi Kappa Phi national honor society were Jazmyn Baker, D.O., Dustin Beck, D.O., Amanda Bighorse, D.O., Eric Canaday, D.O., Kristen Darden, D.O., Derek Hayton, D.O., Ernest Matt Hoffman, D.O., MacKenzie Jenkinson, D.O., Sarah Patrick, D.O. and Krystal Vonfeldt, D.O.


Oklahoma State University Center for Health Sciences in Tulsa offers programs in osteopathic medicine, biomedical sciences and forensic sciences. Since its beginnings more than 30 years ago, OSU-CHS has grown to offer eight graduate degrees. On-campus programs, distance learning and OSU partnerships train osteopathic physicians, research scientists and health care professionals with an emphasis on serving rural and under-served Oklahoma. OSU operates eight clinics, six in Tulsa, one in Enid and one in Muskogee. More information about OSU Center for Health Sciences is available at www.healthsciences.okstate.edu.