OSU logo Oklahoma State University
Center for Health Sciences
Press Releases
Printer Friendly


Mary Bea Drummond | 918-594-8223


Sean Kennedy | 918-594-8360

Dr. Nedra Wilson among outstanding OSU faculty honored by Regents

TULSA (Aug. 12, 2011) -  Nedra Wilson, anatomy and cell biology associate professor, is among nine Oklahoma State University faculty members named the 2011 recipients of the Regents Distinguished Teaching Award.  

This is the 21st year outstanding faculty members have been recognized for their expertise and dedication to teaching. The awards were approved during the meeting of the Oklahoma State University/A&M Board of Regents on Friday.  

Wilson received her B.S. in biology with cell emphasis from Northeastern State in Tahlequah and her Ph.D. from University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center in Dallas. She joined OSU faculty in 2005.

 “I believe that teaching is a synergistic process between student and teacher. For both sides to be successful requires that each is invested in the other’s success,” Wilson said.  “I strive to provide my students not only with an understanding of the course material but also how to critically approach a question. When students learn that they can derive an answer they previously didn’t know, they learn to have confidence in their own abilities.”

Each faculty member will receive a permanent annual salary increment of $1,000, plus fringe benefits. Each college nominates up to three people for the award. A review and selection committee composed of an undergraduate and a graduate student, two faculty members at large, two department heads and the provost, identifies the winners. Each college has one recipient except the College of Arts and Sciences, which has two recipients due to the large number of faculty.