Oklahoma State University Center for Health Sciences
Oklahoma State University Center for Health Sciences
OSU-CHS News > 2014

Feb. 13, 2014

OSU Center for Rural Health distributes SHIP grants to 59 rural hospitals

The Oklahoma State University Center for Rural Health recently distributed more than $400,000 in grants to 59 rural Oklahoma hospitals through the Small Hospital Improvement Program.

“When it comes to health care reforms, these small rural hospitals are in need of assistance to meet the federal guidelines,” said Corie Kaiser, director of the Oklahoma Office of Rural Health. “SHIP grants support quality improvements and health information technology implementation to meet these requirements at these hospitals which are at the heart of many Oklahoma communities.”

The SHIP grants, funded by Health Resources and Services Administration of the United States Department of Health and Human Services, assist small hospitals with participating in certain reforms outlined in the Affordable Care Act.

Each hospital was awarded $7,415.50 for utilizing value-based purchasing, implementing a Medicare reimbursement system and developing data collection activities.

To qualify for the program, hospitals must have 49 or fewer staffed beds and be located outside of a metropolitan statistical area or within a rural census tract.

The OSU Center for Rural Health, part of the OSU Center for Health Sciences, trains physicians and other health care providers and is dedicated to increasing access to health care in rural Oklahoma.

The following hospitals in Oklahoma received SHIP grants:

  • Adair County Health Center
  • Arbuckle Memorial Hospital
  • Atoka County Medical Center
  • Beaver County Memorial Hospital
  • Bristow Medical Center
  • Carnegie Tri-County Municipal Hospital
  • Choctaw Memorial Hospital
  • Choctaw Nation Health Talihina
  • Cimarron Memorial Hospital
  • Cleveland Area Hospital
  • Cordell Memorial Hospital
  • Craig General Hospital
  • Creek Nation Community Hospital
  • Drumright Regional Hospital
  • Elkview General Hospital
  • Epic Medical Center
  • Fairfax Community Hospital
  • Fairview Regional Medical Center
  • Great Plains Regional Medical Center
  • Harmon Memorial Hospital
  • Harper County Community Hospital
  • Haskell County Community Hospital
  • Hillcrest Hospital Henryetta
  • Holdenville General Hospital
  • Integris Blackwell Regional Hospital
  • Integris Clinton Regional Hospital
  • Integris Marshall County Medical Center
  • Integris Seminole Medical Center
  • Jane Phillips Nowata Health Center
  • Jefferson County Hospital
  • Kingfisher Regional Hospital
  • Latimer County General Hospital
  • Lindsay Municipal Hospital
  • Mary Hurley Hospital
  • Mayes County Medical Center
  • Memorial Hospital and Physician Group
  • Memorial Hospital of Texas County
  • Mercy Health Love County
  • Mercy Hospital El Reno
  • Mercy Hospital Healdton
  • Mercy Hospital Logan County
  • Mercy Hospital Tishomingo
  • Mercy Hospital Watonga
  • Newman Memorial Hospital
  • Okeene Municipal Hospital
  • Pawhuska Hospital
  • Perry Memorial Hospital
  • The Physicians’ Hospital in Anadarko
  • Prague Community Hospital
  • Purcell Memorial Hospital
  • Pushmataha Hospital
  • Quartz Mountain Medical Center
  • Sayre Memorial Hospital
  • Seiling Community Hospital
  • Sequoyah Memorial Hospital
  • Share Medical Center
  • St. John Sapulpa
  • Stroud Regional Medical Center
  • Weatherford Regional Hospital


Return To News Index

 Subscribe in a reader

News Contacts

Dr. Mary Bea Drummond
Assistant Vice President, Marketing and Communications Services

Sean Kennedy
Communications Manager

OSU-CHS on Facebook OSU-CHS on Twitter OSU-CHS on Foursquare OSU Medicine on YouTube Google+