Oklahoma State University Center for Health Sciences
Oklahoma State University Center for Health Sciences

OSU-CHS News > 2015

Jan. 15, 2015

Slick appointed to ACGME board as part of accreditation system transition

Slick Slick

Gary Slick, D.O., chief academic officer of the Osteopathic Medical Education Consortium of Oklahoma and professor of internal medicine at OSU-CHS, has been appointed to represent the American Association of Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine on the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education.

The action came as the American Osteopathic Association and AACOM became member organizations in ACGME, and the agency prepares to begin the transition toward implementing a single accreditation system for all U.S. graduate medical education programs.

The single accreditation system will enable graduates of allopathic and osteopathic medical schools to complete their residency or fellowship education in ACGME-accredited programs and demonstrate achievement of common milestones and competencies. The ACGME and AOA currently maintain separate accreditation systems for allopathic and osteopathic educational programs.

Election of new members to the ACGME Board of Directors nominated by AOA and AACOM accompanies the establishment of member organization status, and is part of the agreement reached in early 2014 by the three organizations. Slick is one of two new appointees representing AACOM on the ACGME board. 

Return To News Index

 Subscribe in a reader

News Contacts

Dr. Mary Bea Drummond
Assistant Vice President, Marketing and Communications Services

Sean Kennedy
Communications Manager

OSU-CHS on Facebook OSU-CHS on Twitter OSU-CHS on Foursquare OSU Medicine on YouTube Google+