Oklahoma State University Center for Health Sciences
Oklahoma State University Center for Health Sciences

Share this
OSU-CHS News > 2016

May 5, 2016

OSU-CHS medical students honored at OOA Convention

Five OSU-CHS medical students were awarded Oklahoma Educational Foundation for Osteopathic Medicine Endowed Scholarships at the 2016 Oklahoma Osteopathic Association Convention last weekend.

Beth DeWitt, OMS-III, and Jolee Suddock, OMS-III, were awarded $1,500 scholarships, Daniel Margalski, OMS-II, and Daniel Watkins, OMS-II, received $2,000 scholarships, and Michael Money, Jr., OMS-III, was the recipient of a $3,000 scholarship. OEFOM scholarship consideration is based on class standing, cumulative grade point averages and the candidates’ desire to practice in Oklahoma.

In addition, Jessica Branstetter, OMS-III, placed first and Trace Heavener, OMS-IV, placed second in the convention’s research poster symposium. Branstetter's research focused on the differential effects of digoxin use on atrial fibrillation patients by race and gender. Heavener's research examined publication bias presence and assessment practices in systematic reviews of gastroenterology journals.

Return To News Index

OSU-CHS on Facebook OSU-CHS on Twitter OSU-CHS on Foursquare OSU Medicine on YouTube Google+