Having trouble viewing this email? View it in your browser.

OSU Center for Health Sciences News

Thursday, May 23, 2013

Students, faculty and staff honored at commencement, banquet

Regents' Distingished Student AwardStudents, faculty and staff were recognized for their efforts during end-of-the-year activities at OSU Center for Health Sciences last week. More than 100 students graduated during the university's commencement ceremony on May 17 at the Broken Arrow Performing Arts Center.

OSU A&M Board of Regents Chairman Andy Lester honored Keyaria Gray, D.O., with the Regents' Distinguished Student Award during commencement. The OSU A&M Board of Regents also presented Frank Champlin, Ph.D., with the Distinguished Research Award and William D. Meek, Ph.D., with the Distinguished Teaching Award on May 16.

Many other honors were presented during the Awards Banquet on May 16 at the DoubleTree Hotel at Warren Place. A full list of award honorees is available on the OSU-CHS website.

Students selected Meek and Susan K. Steele, D.O., as grand marshals for the commencement ceremony. The honored faculty members led the faculty and student procession during the ceremony.

OSU donation drives, veterinary services organized for tornado relief

Disaster Relief ShirtFaculty, students and staff at OSU in Tulsa are helping with relief efforts to support those affected by recent tornadoes.

The Biomedical Sciences Graduate Student Association at OSU Center for Health Sciences is hosting a donation drive to support the victims of the recent tornadoes in Oklahoma. In addition to monetary donations, items needed are toiletries, non-perishable food, bottled water, blankets, towels, clothing and shoes and items for children and babies. Donations may be dropped off at the Information Desk in Founders Hall. For more information, email Lea Figueroa-Hall, BSGSA president.

The Tulsa OSU Alumni Chapter is collecting donations at Nabholz Construction at 10319 E. 54th St. For more information, call 918-632-7200.

OSU is teaming up with the University of Oklahoma and the University of Tulsa to develop the 2013 Disaster Relief Shirt. Net proceeds from the sale of the shirts will be donated directly to the United Way to aid disaster relief and recovery efforts across the state of Oklahoma. The design features the logos of all three schools along with text that reads "OK Together" across the chest. For more information and to purchase a shirt, visit the OSU Athletics website.

OSU's Center for Veterinary Health Sciences is offering aid to animals affected by the recent tornadoes. Call OSU's Veterinary Medical Hospital in Stillwater at 405-744-7000 to make arrangements to treat animals. Donations to support this relief effort can be made online or by calling 405-385-5607.

Organizations taking direct donations:

Visit the OSU Alumni Association website to learn about other ways to help.

A Stately Affair raises more than $560,000 for OSU in Tulsa scholarships

Friends and guests of OSU in Tulsa raised more than $560,000 to benefit scholarships for students at OSU Center for Health Sciences and OSU-Tulsa during A Stately Affair on May 20 at Southern Hill Country Club.

"Due to the overwhelming generosity of our donors and patrons, many students in Tulsa will be able to pursue their higher education goals," said Howard Barnett, president of OSU-Tulsa and OSU Center for Health Sciences. "We will be able to help students who would not be able to afford college without the scholarships that these funds will provide."

A Stately Affair honored the 2013 Icons for OSU in Tulsa: Chris Benge, senior vice president of government affairs for the Tulsa Regional Chamber and former Speaker of the Oklahoma House of Representatives; Jim Halligan, Ph.D., former OSU president and current Oklahoma state senator; Thomas McKeon, Ed.D., Tulsa Community College president; and B. Frank Shaw, D.O., Oklahoma Osteopathic Association 2007 Doctor of the Year and a family practice physician in Muskogee. Each Icon was recognized for their contributions to OSU, the city of Tulsa and the state of Oklahoma. Ross and Billie McKnight served as honorary chairs for the event, and Bryan Close and Janet McGehee were co-chairs.