Having trouble viewing this email? View it in your browser.

OSU Center for Health Sciences News

thursday, july 14, 2016

First-year OSU medical students to receive white coats in ceremony

First-year medical students receive their white coats last year at the White Coat Ceremony.
First-year medical students listen to a speaker after receiving their white coats last year during the White Coat Ceremony.

OSU-COM will host its 18th annual White Coat Ceremony at 10 a.m. on Saturday, Aug. 6 at the Van Trease Performing Arts Center for Education at the Tulsa Community College Southeast Campus.

The OSU-COM Class of 2020 will receive their official white coats and recite the Osteopathic Medicine Oath of Commitment to signify their entry into the medical profession. Kayse Shrum, D.O., president of OSU Center for Health Sciences and dean of OSU-COM, will lead the ceremony.

The White Coat Ceremony is designed to instill the values of professionalism and compassionate patient care. The Oklahoma Osteopathic Association provides white coats for students. For friends and family who are unable to attend the event, the ceremony may be viewed live on OStateTV.

OSU-CHS faculty, staff recognized for years of service

OSU in Tulsa Human Resources wants to recognize OSU-CHS faculty and staff for years of service milestones. A reception is planned for the fall to honor the employees.

James Hess, Ed.D., and Michael Pollak, Ph.D., have 35 years of service at OSU-CHS. Others recognized are Nancy Van Winkle, Ph.D., H. Mike Thompson and Jeff Evans, 25 years ; Damon Baker, D.O., Sherry Eastman, Joni Finfrock, David Wallace, Ph.D., and Robert White, 20 years; Robert Allen, Ph.D., Janis Barber, Sharon Bruton, Gail Carpenter, Kelly McCracken, Paul Rock, D.O., Ph.D., Josephine Shields and Crystal Shults, 15 years.

Ten-year employees include Malinda Arrington, Dennis Blankenship, D.O., Mark Blubaugh, D.O., Franklin Champlin, Ph.D., Amy Colvin, Lora Cotton, D.O., Randall Cowles, Thomas Curtis, Ph.D., Kathleen Curtis, Ph.D., Brian Diener, D.O., Amanda G. Foster, D.O., Dean Fullingim, D.O., Jennifer Galbraith, D.O., Jade Goodson, Joseph Johnson, D.O., Aaron Lane, D.O., Angela Millington, Rebecca Morgan, Anne Moss, Randall Popp, William Reddig, Shawna Seagraves-Duncan, D.O., Johnny Stephens, Pharm.D., Michael L. Thomas, M.D., Matt Vassar, Ph.D., Anne Weil, Ph.D., and Susan White.

Employees with five years of service are Luda Abbott, Mary Ann Adair, Ashley Adkins, Carol Ahl, Michael Cannon, D.O., Subhas Das, Ph.D., Angelia Diab, Cidney Dirickson, Camillia Estes, Cody Frieden, Lavona Hall, Heidi Holmes, Jeremy Jones, D.O., Cynthia Lamon, Galina Michka, Samantha Overfield, Leydi Robles, Adriana Cabanas, Michael Schiesel, D.O., Tamara Session, Tyler Thompson, Allison Veitenheimer, Brek Wilkins, Ph.D., and Monica Williams.

OSU-CHS hosts monthly life support class

OSU-CHS Security offers a Basic Life Support (BLS) course every month for health care providers or anyone interested in being certified in cardiopulmonary resuscitation and other life-saving procedures.

The American Heart Association course is set for 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. on the third Thursday of each month in E-202. The next BLS class is scheduled for July 21st. The fee is $20 for OSU-CHS employees or students and $30 for members of the public. Participants will be trained in the use of automated external defibrillators and the application of CPR for infants, children and adults. Participants who pass skills testing and a multiple-choice written exam will receive a credential card valid for two years.

Participants are asked to check in at the security kiosk at OSU-CHS' west entrance and bring payment to class. Participants arriving more than 10 minutes late will need to reschedule. For more information or to register, email security dispatcher Meagan Robertson.